And my chosen subject is….

We have been asked to consider a subject that interests us and gather relevant research and information regarding, whilst considering contextual studies. My chosen subject is.. (drum roll) …Animals! I really couldn’t decide what subject to chose, after discussing this with Mark he suggested that I look into art through the ages and how animals have been used/portrayed over the years.  I decided to start with the renaissance and work my way through the art movements, researching animals within art. Whilst I was doing this, I was pleased to discover cats featured quite a lot in art history! So now my subject will be my favourite things in the world – CATS!!  Yes I am the craziest cat lady in the world and I’m not ashamed to admit it!

CATS IN ART

mona lisa cat

Cats feature regularly in art history, this reflects the changing perceptions of these creatures and what certain cultures believed the cat symbolised. I have decided to work through the artistic movements in history and show how cats are portayed by the artists.

 

CATS DURING THE RENAISSANCE

During the Renaissance period, cats were often seen as familiars to witches

 

This entry was posted in Contextual Studies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment